top of page

IAS Exam - Indian Administrative Services Exam

Indian Administrative Services (IAS) Exam


The Indian Administrative Services (IAS) Exam is one of the most prestigious and competitive examinations conducted in India. It is conducted by the Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) to select candidates for various administrative positions in the Indian government. This document aims to provide an overview of the IAS Exam, its eligibility criteria, syllabus, and the selection process.

Eligibility Criteria:

To be eligible for the IAS Exam, a candidate must meet certain criteria. They should be a citizen of India, must have attained the age of 21 years, and should hold a bachelor's degree from a recognized university. The upper age limit varies for different categories, and candidates belonging to reserved categories have certain relaxations in eligibility criteria.

Exam Pattern:

The IAS Exam is conducted in three stages: the Preliminary Examination (Prelims), the Main Examination (Mains), and the Personality Test (Interview). The Prelims consist of two objective-type papers, namely General Studies Paper-I and General Studies Paper-II (CSAT). The Mains include nine descriptive papers, out of which two are qualifying in nature and the remaining seven are counted for merit. Lastly, the Personality Test assesses the candidate's personality, communication skills, and overall suitability for administrative positions.


The syllabus for the IAS Exam is vast and covers a wide range of subjects. The Prelims syllabus includes topics such as History, Geography, Economy, Polity, Environment, and Current Affairs. The Mains syllabus comprises subjects like Essay Writing, General Studies, Indian Language, English Language, and Optional Subjects. Candidates can choose their optional subjects from a list provided by the UPSC, which includes subjects like Public Administration, History, Geography, Sociology, and many more.

Selection Process:

The selection process for the IAS Exam is rigorous and highly competitive. Candidates need to clear each stage of the exam to proceed to the next. The Prelims is a screening test, and only those who qualify are eligible to appear for the Mains. The final selection is based on the candidate's performance in the Mains and the Personality Test. The merit list is prepared based on the total marks obtained in the Mains and the Personality Test, with due weightage given to the candidate's performance in different papers.


The IAS Exam offers a unique opportunity for individuals who aspire to serve the nation in administrative positions. It requires dedication, hard work, and a thorough understanding of various subjects. Clearing this exam not only grants access to prestigious administrative positions but also provides an opportunity to make a significant impact on the lives of millions of people. Therefore, candidates who are interested in pursuing a career in the civil services should meticulously prepare for the IAS Exam and aim to excel in all its stages.

bottom of page